St Francis

St Francis

Kaieteur falls, Guyana

He tells me of the falling water
four times taller than Niagara
and clouds of black birds
black as amber
beyond a veiled world
a treasure
 
And I know not so much, 
but I know this
I wish for the kindness of St Francis
 
He tells me of the burning fire
a dragon tail of sleepless nights
a shaking off of clothes in fright
and shaking heads
so sure of wrong and right
they cannot set their worlds aside
 
And I know not so much, 
but I know this
I pray for the patience of St Francis
 
What others hide grace admits
What swings fast and wide grace admits
What won’t stay by your side grace admits
 
I’ve seen clouds above Oxford
turned into starlings
caught and falling in a flock
almost locked into velocity
seven neighbours veering magically
momentarily defying gravity
 
And I know not so much, 
but I know this
I wish for the laughter of Black Francis
 
And I know not so much, 
but I know this
I’m glad of the kindness of St Francis
 

2 thoughts on “St Francis

  1. TJ, this is great. It rings, it rings. Can’t wait to hear it. “What others hide grace admits, What swings fast and wide grace admits, What won’t stay by your side grace admits” – I can almost hear it… Beautiful. Love the Black Francis tag. So deep, I can read this over and over…

    • Ah. thank you so much. Yeah – Black Francis is as much a saint for me as anyone, I think. I’ve been thinking of doing this in the style of a Daniel Lanois tune – a deep moody bluesy tune at mid tempo. Will keep you posted – but yeah, the melody is fresh – reminds me of the Beach Boys ‘Do it again’… Am having a play with it now on my recently repaired, now fully functional – and stunning – Beesneez mic pre… 😉

Leave a Reply

